Consult SAT Online For Canada Jobs and Foreign Jobs Abroad, Study as you work in Canada

Portal Avenue, Kampala, Ug

9:00am – 5:00pm (Mon-Sat) 




Kyambogo University

kyambogo university

Kyambogo University is a relatively new University created with the main aim of promoting and advancing knowledge and development of skills in Science, Technology and Education and such other fields having regards for quality, equity, progress and transformation of society. Kyambogo University is a public university established by the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act 2001 and the Universities and Other Tertiary institutions’ (Establishment of Kyambogo University) instruments of 2003. It is a merger of the former Uganda Polytechnic Kyambogo (UPK), the Institute of Teacher Education, Kyambogo (ITEK), and the Uganda National Institute of Special Education (UNISE). The university enrolment at the end of 2011 was 22,290 students, with more than 50% of these being male students.

The University is located 8km from Kampala City Centre along the Kampala – Jinja highway. It is accessible through the Banda Trading Centre or the Kyambogo “T” junction. There is also an access route through the Ntinda- Kiwatule road.

The University has embraced the fields of Science, Technology, Education, Vocational Studies, Arts and Social Sciences, and Special Needs and Rehabilitation as it core areas of Training and Research.

Kyambogo University is the only university that trains teachers and other personnel in the field of Special Needs and Rehabilitation in Uganda. It has made provisions for technical staff like sign language interpreters for staff/students with hearing impairment as well as sighted guides and readers for staff/students with visual impairment. Braille and large print materials are being produced for consumers who are visually impaired and those who have low vision respectively. Various other assistive devices like white canes for persons who are blind are also produced.

The University offers several undergraduate and post-graduate programmes organised under 7 faculties, divided into 27 departments.

  • Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Special Needs & Rehabilitation
  • Faculty of Vocational Studies
  • School of Management and Entrepreneurship

Featured Articles

Featured video

Play Video
Watch Dr. Paul Harris talk about family health care practice and his patient-centered approach

Healthy Newsletter

Quo ea etiam viris soluta, cum in aliquid oportere. Eam id omnes alterum. Mei velit